Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Copyright 2012 Ron Cowie Photography All RIghts ReservedUlysses

"To Which A Broken Heart Always Replies 'Yes.'"

Seven platinum prints from my series “Leaving Babylon” are included in the show “The Doors Of Perception” at The Photographic Resource Center in Boston, MA. The gallery is located at 832 Commonwealth Avenue. It will be on display from Feb 5th through March 23rd. The show is curated by Francine Weiss and includes some wonderful and talented artists: Jesseca Ferguson, Mark Osterman, France Scully Osterman, Scott McMahon, Gretjen Helene, and Jerry Spagnoli. I am honored and thrilled to be included.

The title “Doors Of Perception” sparked new thinking towards my own work. My perception of “Leaving Babylon” needed a reboot. I had been taking it for granted and not showing it to people. Someone said your artwork is like your child – it has has a life of its own. I was a bad parent. My responsibility as an artist and a parent is to create a space where these creative entities can grow and flourish. It isn’t to insist that it constantly reassure me that I’m a good person. Making this distinction helps me build a better relationship with my kids and artwork. So, THANK YOU FRANCINE!

Insecure artists are like stage parents. They hover and cling to their work. They insist that the creation always be about them. By using the artwork as a vehicle to fill some gap in their own lives, they drain all the energy and joy from the work. They are afraid to get it all wrong. They eventually stop taking chances and take cues from an ever more conservative audience. I know this because I am guilty of it. Micromanaging has stood in the way of my work finding it’s audience. I’ve stunted it’s growth. I’m that insufferable artist who has an opinion about everything regarding proper artistry without getting my hands dirty. Leaving Babylon is a result and reflection of turning away from that ego-centric prison. Leaving Babylon was born through fear and doubt and represents the power faith has to transcend those human obstacles.  

It is an act of faith to believe my artwork can handle the world without constant supervision. I made Leaving Babylon for the sheer joy of creation; without a concern for “if it would sell” or “if everyone will like it.” It has taken some time for me to get enough perspective for my perception to change. I needed outside help to bring about this change. Contests, consultants, galleries, portfolio reviews and shows are the playground and finishing schools for my artwork. It is my job to expose them to these great opportunities. I don’t really over think my parenting because I have faith that kids are resilient. As a parent, you have to play the long game. Artwork should be treated the same way.

I trust the people my work attracts are pretty decent and like-minded folks. I’m learning that my art can take a punch. It doesn’t have to be loved by everyone for it to be valid. It only needs to be loved by me.

So, with the Doors of Perception show coming up, my work is going to another playground. Its not the biggest kid on the monkey bars but I think it will do just fine and make a few new friends along the way. For this I am grateful.

A little faith goes a long way.