Tags

, , , , , ,

The History of Kiki’s Pancakes.

Kiki has always loved pancakes and I have loved making them. One morning, as a goof, I decided to make pancakes from scratch; using a recipe from an old cookbook. They were good, but not great. So, every morning when Kiki would say she wanted pancakes for breakfast, I cheerfully agreed. I experimented with ingredients, ratios, and mixing styles. After a few years of making “good” pancakes. I finally discovered what I consider to be a “great” pancake.

This simple pancake mix is one way I demonstrate the love I have for my family and friends. I hope you share it with those you love too.

How to make the perfect pancake!

First, I prefer to use a non-stick pan. Whatever pan you choose, make sure you are “used” to it.

Don’t try to speed the process by using high heat. This batter is fairly thick when it comes off the ladle. That means the outside will cook faster than the inside. I keep my stove on medium heat. The sugar that is already in the mix will burn before the inside of the pancake cooks fully. That’s bad.

Flip them once.

You can serve them as they come off the pan or stack them together so they don’t lose any heat.

Not to be a snob, but use real maple syrup if you can. You don’t need to use as much as you might think.

The only ingredients you'll need: One Bag of Kiki's Pancake Mix, Two eggs, Two Cups Milk (1%)

The only ingredients you’ll need: One Bag of Kiki’s Pancake Mix, Two eggs, Two Cups Milk (1%)

Put all the ingredients in a mixing bowl

Put all the ingredients in a mixing bowl

Mix the ingredients until blended.

Mix the ingredients until blended.

Let the batter stand for about  one minute. It will thicken up considerably. Resist the temptation to add more milk.

Let the batter stand for about one minute. It will thicken up considerably. Resist the temptation to add more milk.

This pancake is ready to be turned but there are no bubbles coming up. Slide the spatula under to check. They should be golden brown.

This pancake is ready to be turned but there are no bubbles, except on the edges, coming up. Slide the spatula under to check. They should be golden brown.

Using plenty of clarified butter or vegetable shortening will give you that crispy edge. I use clarified butter because.

Using plenty of clarified butter or vegetable shortening will give you that crispy edge. I use clarified butter.

You can see how thick the pancakes are. They are not heavy.

You can see how thick the pancakes are. They are not heavy.

This is a cross section of a pancake. Little pockets of air are what you want.

This is a cross section of a pancake. Little pockets of air are what you want.

One bag of Kiki's Pancake Mix makes eight pancakes.

One bag of Kiki’s Pancake Mix makes eight pancakes.