Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’ve never worked from a place of complete understanding when starting a project. The creative process is an act of deliberate faith. It starts with exploring, making some clichés and, discovering a new way. It is not about confirming old ideas but uncovering new ones. Here is some new work that is very much “in process” which means both good and bad are included in the mix. I’ve also included images of my camera making images. I think the cool kids call that being very “meta”.

The only thing I can say for sure about my work is that it feels good to make it. In many ways, I’m picking up where Leaving Babylon left off in 2008. A lot has happened in six years and I’m a different person than I was. The greatest gift I got from my most recent portfolio reviews was the permission to start something new. So, with that in mind, I present the “sketchbook” and will continue to share the process. I have no idea where I’m being led.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

One rule I hold fast to is “All light is good light”.  Weather is something I can’t control and there is plenty of evidence that great work has been made in all types of circumstances. So, unless there is a natural disaster at hand, I just get to work with what is available.

I’m using one camera, one lens and trying to keep the f/stop as close to the middle as possible. By eliminating mechanical variables and work with how the camera uses these constraints it prevents over thinking. I find it easy to get lost in the mechanics of an exposure instead of the subject matter in front of the lens.

The 8×10 camera requires time. I use it to “step out” of time in active meditation. I consider what’s important in the picture I want to make while setting up. I don’t expect an answer by the time an exposure is made. All the final images will be printed in platinum.

If you are interested in seeing more of my work, please visit my website,  Alibi Fine Art or Photoeye Gallery